Knowledge Base > IntelliJ Plugins > Reset plugin settings

Reset the IntelliJ Plugin to default settings

If you would like to start the IntelliJ Plugin from a “clean slate”, the existing Plugin settings files should be deleted. The Plugin settings files are stored in the user’s IntelliJ profile directory; the default location is dependent on OS and IntelliJ edition and version:

IntelliJ Community Edition:

Windows 2019: %USERPROFILE%\.IdeaIC2019.x

Windows 2020.1:%APPDATA%\JetBrains

Linux: ~/.IdeaIC2019.x

IntelliJ Ultimate Edition:

Windows 2019: %USERPROFILE%\.IntelliJIdea2019.x

Windows 2020.1:%APPDATA%\JetBrains

Linux: ~/.IntelliJIdea2019.x

 

Deleting settings

To delete the Plugin settings, perform the following steps:

  1. Close any open sessions of IntelliJ
  2. Navigate to the appropriate IntelliJ profile directory (as detailed above)
  3. Navigate further to the subdirectory: config/options
  4. Delete all of these files if they are present:
    • CoverAnalyticsInstallationID.xml
    • CoverSettingsConfig.xml
    • CoverTirIndexes.xml
    • coverVersions.xml
  5. Restart IntelliJ.